Virginia City Threatens Trick-or-Treaters Over 12 with Jail Time on Halloween

October 10, 2018
Halloween trick or treat witches

Image Courtesy of Dreamstime

Categories: 

By Erin Thibeau

Trick-or-treaters in Chesapeake, Virginia, have more than just ghouls and goblins to be afraid of on Halloween. 

The city is clamping down on holiday shenanigans by threatening jail time for trick-or-treaters over the age of 12. However, according to CBS News, the city won't be "actively seeking out violations."

If someone over 12 years of age participates in trick-or-treating or something similar, the city's ordinance code says, "he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both."

"Chesapeake Police staff will focus on making sure the evening is safe for everyone," it continues. So, a 13-year-old who is "safely trick or treating with a younger sibling is not going to have any issues," but one who's stealing and smashing pumpkins is headed for trouble.

Halloween is on a Wednesday this year, so kids will have to be up early for school the next day. But it's especially important not to stay out late. The city can charge any person trick-or-treating after 8 p.m. with a misdemeanor – punished by up to a $100.00 fine or jail time of up to 30 days, or both.

Chesapeake isn't the only city in Virginia that's strict on the holiday. Newport says anyone trick-or-treating in eigth grade (or at 13 years old) or older is guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor, and "no accompanying parent or guardian shall wear a mask of any type." 

Over in Portsmouth, the practice is only allowed from 5 to 8 p.m. for those 12 and younger.

Stay safe out there kids! Big brother is watcthing.

Follow @WPGC on Twitter 

Follow @WPGC on Instagram