The album was recorded through Bey's year-long legal drama.

By Hayden Wright

Yasiin Bey’s career has gone from zero to 60 in the last month. The artist formerly known as Mos Def was held in South Africa throughout 2016 following some legal trouble, and finally got permission to leave in November.  With farewell appearances planned for the United States, Bey announced that a new album will drop in December. Called December 99th, the album was recorded in collaboration with Ferrari Sheppard.

Related: Yasiin Bey (AKA Mos Def) Announces Final Shows

December 99th may tell the story of Bey’s legal limbo in 2016: He and Sheppard recorded the album during his lengthy wait to leave South Africa. The collection of new music will be released exclusively through Tidal, and a track list is now available:

  1. N.A.W.
  2. Blade In The Pocket
  3. SPESH
  4. Local Time
  5. Tall Sleeves
  6. Seaside Panic Room
  7. Shadow In the Dark
  8. It Goes
  9. Special Dedication

Following his December performances in Harlem and Washington, Def says he plans to devote his time to an “arts, culture and lifestyle collective” named A Country Called Earth. A preview of December 99th is available here:



More From WPGC - 95.5

Joe Clair Morning Show
DMV Spotlight

Listen Live