By: Jodi Phillips

Awards season is off to a roaring start as the past 10 days has seen People’s Choice Awards, the Golden Globes and most recently the Critics’ Choice Awards.  This year, the Critics Choice Awards saw the same winners as its predecessors.

The biggest award of the night, Best Picture, was awarded to the dynamic and moving film 12 Years a Slave.  Along with the highest honor, the movie also won for Best Supporting Actress (Lupita Nyong’o) and Best Adapted Screenplay.  While the Steve McQueen directed movie left with huge honors, it was Gravity who took home the bulk of awards with seven wins.  The categories Gravity swept included Best Director, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Visual Effects, Best Actress in a Movie (to Sandra Bullock), Best Sci-Fi/Horror and Best Score.

There were also repeat winners from the Golden Globes a few nights earlier including Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf of Wall Street, Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine and Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club.

The next award show this season is the Screen Actors Guild Awards this Saturday, Jan. 18 followed by the GRAMMYs on Jan. 26.

Follow WPGC on Twitter


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From WPGC - 95.5

Joe Clair Morning Show
DMV Spotlight

Listen Live